Medical Malpractice Claims Are Treated Differently Based On What Allegedly Went Wrong

One of the biggest reasons why medical malpractice cases are so difficult is that there are so many different types of medical errors and omissions that could injure a patient. The self-reported allegations in the National Practitioner's Data Bank includes more than 80 different codes for types of claims giving rise to a payment.

There are seven different categories of medical malpractice allegations within the database:

  • Failure to Take Appropriate Action
  • Delay in Performance
  • Error/Improper Performance
  • Unnecessary or Contraindicated Procedure
  • Communication or Supervision
  • Continuity of Care or Care Management
  • Behavior or Legal